Such a thing as too much machine.

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

MARKMAC

Hey folks, I registered here because I'm new to skid steers and have some questions.

I'm mid 40s aged and live on a acre with horses and the usual mini farm stuff. I've been using a very small 1979 Ford 1100 tractor (13hp) with a loader and blade for typical chores.

As fate would have it an axle shaft separated on my little tractor and the front right wheel went rolling down the road (see pic). I searched the whole internet and bought the last used axle on the internet to fix my obsolete tractor.

Following the repair, I told my wife I'm selling the little old Ford before a catastrophic failure renders it a lawn decoration. My wife agreed, and then promptly suggested "inheriting" her dad's Cat 262D skid steer. He passed away a few months back and she wants me to have his skid steer. It's about a 2014 model, he was the only owner, low hours, but hasn't been used in probably 4 years (he was infirm for a long time). Likely it needs a good amount of maintenance.

I was originally targeting a small utility tractor in the 30 hp range, and a weight of 3000-4000 lbs.

Father-in-law's Cat 262D is 8000 lbs. It's more than twice the machine than I need.

Furthermore, I only use my tractor 15-20 hours a year. This Cat is meant for a commercial 40 hour a week duty cycle.

Flipping my father in law's skid steer is NOT an option. If I take it, then I have to keep it, AND maintain it, etc.

Frankly, I'm more comfortable using a utility tractor (visibility), but the lift capacity air conditioning and radio in the Cat is really nice.

What would you do?

Attachments

• IMG_9239.jpeg
    IMG_9239.jpeg
    495.8 KB · Views: 50

mrbb

well just my 2 cents,
I think if you can get this skid steer, I doubt you will regret it, and like most things like this, once you have it, you will find way more uses for it(and odds are so will your friends, family and neighbors, asking you to do things for them with it)