New member with 1995 853

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Mitch500

Hello fellow forum members,

Just wanted to introduce myself, I'm a new member with a 1995 853. I acquired this bobcat about a week ago in hopes to help my around my acreage with yard work, garden stuff, snow removal and hopes to re surfaces the gravel road at my cabin.

20240206_090429.jpg

I bought the 853 at a non operable auction and got it for a good deal I believe. I'm not a noob with wrenching, I've rebuilt a couple Mercedes diesel sprinter motors , do all my own mechanics on cars and trucks. But I am a noob to the Skid steer world and hydraulics for that matter.

The other day when I got the machine home I got to work and begun preparing to get the motor started, But not before reading the service manual a couple times to familiarize myself with the machine. One thing I noticed right away was someone added a walbro autopulse inline fuel pump. Upon reading the manual that part was not factory and someone installed it, which lead me to believe maybe something was wrong with the pickup tube in the tank or ball valve on the end of the tube. Whoever installed it decided to steal 12v from the fuel cutoff switch attached to the injection pump which was causing the switch to rapidly shut off and on while the key was in the on position (not running). I decided to disconnect that connection and installed new fuel filter Wix (old filter was incorrect arrow in blue) and bled the air via touching the positive lead on the pump to the starter +. This allowed me to bleed the filter of air and also bleed air from injection pump. Here's a pic of the pump circled in green which i plan to replace with hand pump.

Screenshot_20240207_101656_Gallery.jpg