10 things you should know about your 743 bobcat.

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Madbobcater743

Hey guys. As some of you might know I own a 743 pre 90? Not sure. When I bought it I knew it needed work. But I have faith in this old girl.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Here a few things that I know about it. I am not a mechanic just a guy who has been around machines.
1. If you have low compression there could be a bad cylinder. When I looked @ this machine I should of asked owner to give a cold start, would of seen it a mile away.
2. New tires make a world of difference ( even if they are cheap ones).
3. Make sure you are aware of your tire tread depth and observe rim life. ( blowing a tire sucks) and its dangerous as F@ck to put it back on the rim.
4. Make sure your fuel rail is tight as air in fuel system is a pain and tough/rough start. Priming the ball is helpful. Make sure your prime ball is tight/ no cracks.
5. Keep up on your fluids and constantly check for leaks. I myself am the proud owner of an engine leak that can cause quite the drip and stinks up my engine housing.
6. As much as it sucks listening to the machine and how it works is helpful. Also having a working electrical system is great. I can't wait for that! Must be nice.
7. A good set of glow plugs/ good battery is amazing!
8. Keep your machine well greased. I can't imagine what its like changing those pins and bushings if they never saw grease.
9. Maybe have a spare starter/altenator/belt handy in case you ever need to make something work. I can't wait to do a new starter/ altenator. I by no means am saying this is all you need to know. I'm just sharing what I have learned from my past 2 months. I would encourage everyone to please give a list of what they have learned from experience of being around a 743.
10. Oh and from the looks of it The gear box looks scary to work on.

Tazza

Staff member