Has anyone welded on tie downs?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

jcurcio

I have a Bobcat 763 and haul it in a dump trailer. I have welded on D-Rings on the floor from the factory and typically cross chain from the D-rings to the center anchor points on the Bobcat. However, the ones in the front of the trailer are a nightmare to get to. I also don't trust the D-Rings as they are only welded to the 10 gauge floor and even at that, the dump bed is only attached to the trailer's frame at the rear pivots.

What I've been contemplating on doing is welding on new D-rings directly to the frame rails of the trailer which would require me to weld on anchor points to the bobcat. I feel like it would give me far safer anchor points than I currently have and make tying down much easier. I've researched this a ton and can't find anyone that has done this. Please don't just give me the answer of using the factory anchor points. I am a welding instructor and am fairly knowledgeable which is why I don't trust the trailer manufacturers shitty welds with undercut on 10 gauge sheet metal. I'd feel safer running the chains outside the bed directly to the frame. My question is more about the anchors on the bobcat being higher up in order to clear the bed sides. The attached picture is not of my machine and trailer, but similar. Any thoughts on chaining from these locations on the bobcat? Thanks!
Bobcat Trailer.JPG

Tom in Mo.

My first thought is you will pull the sides of the trailer inward when you screw down the binders. The machine can't go anywhere with those sides on. I'd use a single center point ring in front to the bucket and a single center point in rear to keep it from sliding front to back.

foton