873 Sheared Flywheel Bolts

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Clodhopper

My 873 had been making a bit of a racket lately, which iI was having a hard time isolating. Then this afternoon it stopped running suddenly. The flywheel had detached from the crankshaft. How do I get it moved to a good spot to work on it (probably about 400 feet)? The manual says not to tow it more than 25 feet, and I've never needed to tow it or any skid steer before. Also, I am assuming I am going to need to pull the motor to get the sheared off bolts out (all but 1 or 2 by the looks of it). I'm not a great mechanic but I do usually work on my own equipment, and usually figure it out eventually. I do have a service manual for this machine, but are there any things that I may need to look out for when pulling the motor, or is there good way to get those bolts out without removing the engine. Thanks for any advice, Pete

Tazza

Staff member
As the park brake will be on, no reason why you can't drag it all the way, they generally say 25 feet when the wheels can roll i believe. Ideally get it on a trailer but if you need to drag it allo that way, it may help to wet the ground to help it slide easier and do less damage to the wheels.

OP
OP
C

Clodhopper

As the park brake will be on, no reason why you can't drag it all the way, they generally say 25 feet when the wheels can roll i believe. Ideally get it on a trailer but if you need to drag it allo that way, it may help to wet the ground to help it slide easier and do less damage to the wheels.