863 issues oil system

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

fred cat

I'm working on a 863 with oil cooled deutz
Having low oil pressure, I found a small piece of aluminum in the lower pressure relief this helped, I can run for longer times without coding out but still not sure how to interpret the gauges for pressure and temp.
Where should normal operating level be , two bars-three bars ext temp is at five or six and feels like the engine compartment is too hot and oil cooler feed hose is very hot and cooler shows no sign of heat even ice cold, could the oil cooler be pluged
I understand two different problems or is it connected.any guidance would help

OP
OP
F

fred cat

I believe that is part of the problem
What is the best way to flush the cooler, I was thinking about removing and back flushing with solvent and compressed air repeatedly

cdmccul

I'm not an expert on those coolers, but yea, that should about right. Also make sure the outside isn't stilted up with dirt, etc.

OP
OP
F

fred cat

The outside of the cooler is clean and has no buildup that I can see, feel good air flow even at an idle if there is blockage it is inside

OP
OP
F

fred cat

So I flushed the oil cooler and removed a lot of black scale looking material looks like carbon but not sure, does anyone have an idea where it would come from?
Now having the boss gauge cluster where should the oil pressure and temp gauges be running at while operating? Tia

foton

if it was blocked that bad and overheated over and over again I suppose it could be oil that was cooked. I assume that you are not the first owner so you can never know what has been done in the past.

OP
OP
F

fred cat

if it was blocked that bad and overheated over and over again I suppose it could be oil that was cooked. I assume that you are not the first owner so you can never know what has been done in the past.