Operating on slope ~30 -40 degrees

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

landforthewin

Hi there. I am grinding the gears. Got 2 ways to do this. 1. Hire someone to do it and pay 1-2 grand 2. Rent a skid-steer for a day for about $300 + $200 delivery. I am a skilled Bobcat operator on flat ground and have thousands of hours in. But never been on a hilll before. The ground is clay and rock, pretty hard pack but gets loose in spots with dry cracking. The slope is pretty steep, around 30-40 degrees. I want to cut in a road down about 200 feet distance. I think that will be the hard part. Once I get down there, I want to make a good size turn around for a car. I also want to make a nice flat area for a campfire and a patio. From there, I want to see how it goes, but I want to make some more roads/paths around the property (2.5 acres). But the problem is it gets steeper from there, so don't know how far I'll push it. Part of me just thinks pay someone to do it, but another part of me thinks I can do it and I WANT to do it. I just don't want to flip the thing and start rolling, lol. Any suggestions /advice will be appreciated. Thank you, have a good one. -landforthewin

foton

skid steers are great tools but I think what you need is a small to med. dozer they are made to cut and push dirt just like what you describe

Hotrod1830

I would rent a track loader if you try it yourself. If your cutting INTO the hill and making a level, descending driveway/road then you should have no problems with a track loader. If your road will have a 30-40 degree slope, it can be done with a loader, but MUST travel uphill with a loaded bucket and downhill with a empty bucket. NEVER raise the the bucket when on a incline. Always keep it at ground level. As far as tipping, they will usually slide before they tip. You will have a little warning and usually enough time to point it downhill and stop the tip.
A dozer will tip just the same if they start sliding.

Hotrod1830