Looking at buying a 742B. Tips on what to look for?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

2drx4

Disclaimer: I'm not much of an experienced equipment guy, but I fix aircraft for a living. I'm planning to look at a 742B in a few days, and I want to know what to look for or what to inspect. I plan to use it for plowing my driveway and some very light landscaping work for the time being. I know these machines are not really considered to be good for much more than the home jobber now, and that's basically what I am.

It allegedly has 3900hrs on it and the Mitsubishi engines is consuming oil significantly. I will try to determine how bad when I look at it, but reading suggests that these engines tend to wear out and do this. I am not afraid to rebuild it as long as parts are available.

As to the rest of it, what is a non-starter? I know to look for cracks in the loader and chassis (looking for cracks is literally half of what I do for a living), but I'm not sure if there is any known problematic areas. Worn pins are normally easy enough to spot too. What about wear in the wheel/drive assembly?

As far as a test goes, make sure it doesn't buck when going straight? No creeping when you have the sticks in neutral? Obviously check the loader goes up and down and curls, and does it smoothly. No leaks or drips too, obviously. I'll pick his brain on service history, see if the oil in the governor has ever been changed, but from the pics I can see it has clean new filters on it. What else?

Thanks for any advice.

brdgbldr

Disclaimer: I'm not much of an experienced equipment guy, but I fix aircraft for a living. I'm planning to look at a 742B in a few days, and I want to know what to look for or what to inspect. I plan to use it for plowing my driveway and some very light landscaping work for the time being. I know these machines are not really considered to be good for much more than the home jobber now, and that's basically what I am.