Engine Oil vs Hydraulic Oil

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

cocoabill

I put synthetic engine oil in my loader, Costco SAE 15W-40 Heavy Duty Synthetic Diesel oil. Loader seams to be OK but it's a bit sluggish. I did this because worried about fire potential with Hydraulic oil. I am thinking about going back to the recommended SAE 10W20CD I was looking at using AW32 Hydraulic fluid for this. Question is did I already mess things up by switching to motor oil and is there anything special I need to do to switch back?

This is the manuals full spec on recommended Oil

SAE 10W20CD; Taxaco TDH; Mobil
Fluid 423; Chevron Tractor Hydraulic
Fluid; G Automatic Fluids meeting
Caterpillar TO-2 or Allison C3 standards

Thanks
Bill

mrbb

I'm no expert, but YES you could have possibly caused some issue's
the oil you added is most likely much thinner and a such , not designed for your machines system(not to mention any additives it has)

just draining will NOT remove all of it either,, the only way to remove it would be doing several changes and even then you will most likely NEVER get it all out!
NOW HOW Much damage could it have caused? that s a loaded question and if your already noticing issue's
I think you already have a clue!
IMO! there is a reason why OEM"S use the fluids they do! its what they found worked best for things!

if I was you I would drain, refill with CORRECT OEM fluid, run a b it and repeat, and HOPE for the best!
good luck!

foton

I do not know where you are but aw-46 might be the thing to use in a warmer climate, aw -32 is good in cold climate use. both of these fluids are available in a synthetic formula.$$$$$$$

Mustang Guy