873F No lift or tilt

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

micky

Hello, new to the forum and appreciative in advance for any help you have to offer. I am also new to skid-steer ownership, so please forgive my ignorance. I have a 873F with the square lights. I have no lift or tilt. I am getting a blinking light "code" on the right interior panel under the gages. The Momentary LED is off and the Detent LED is blinking. Looking at the manual I see it it "rod end solenoid or wiring". From my reading on this forum and the internet I think that I have a problem with the solenoid valve that opens or closes flow the the hydraulic controller. I have checked the wiring from the solenoid to the bundle where it goes into the cab – all good. I Ohm tested the coil and got 10.5, but can't find any info what it should be. Have not taken the coil off yet to test with power. My question Is: The new solenoid replacement has a diode where mine does not. My understand is that diodes are just protection for the device itself. Can I simply replace the old coil (no diode) with a new coil (w/ diode). If I do is there any risk to the BICS system for some weird electrical reason. I would like to leave the old valve stem in, because as a newbie, I am a bit intimidated by hydraulics till I educate myself some more. On that note, if anyone has a recommendation on a basic resource about working on hydraulics safely, that would be great. Not going to become a technician, just don't want to hurt myself or anyone else. Thanks again!!

wrenchmeister

I'm new to skidsteers like you, but have a lot of automotive experience. The diode protects the module. It's ok to use a solenoid with an integrated diode, but you need to make sure the connector is keyed so that it only goes on the correct way.
The manuals are a good source of educational info. Here is a link to an 873 manual, not sure if it covers F models or your serial number.