Snow removal with a bucket on gravel

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

pnw_steer

I'm new to this so apologies if this is obvious. I bought an old used S740 for snow removal. My driveway is gravel, definitely not perfectly graded, and steep (23% grade). I have a standard bucket. I tried briefly last year and immediately dug up my driveway. So my question is how to remove snow from my driveway without having the bucket catch (and dig through) any imperfections AND without leaving too much snow (that I will drive on and compact to ice). My guess is I tilt the bucket up just a little bit and just accept that I'll leaves an inch or two? Or do I use float? Tips appreciated!

reaperman

Around here, once the ground freezes its much easier to plow a gravel driveway. But it always seems the first snow comes before the ground freezes. That can raise hell with plowing as the bucket always finds its way into the ground. If your driveway is that steep, leaving any snow will certainly make ice. I snow blower attachment may be the best in your situation. They dont come cheap, but they work great.

KarlB

I'd try removing the snow with the bucket raised a bit and then go backwards in float to try to scrape off some more. You'll never really get all the snow off gravel, and on a steep drive you'll have to accept using salt/sand. Even a snowblower has to leave some (though less, but you generally need the skid shoes about 1" up); if the driveway is not perfectly smooth then you'll have to leave more snow or you'll be removing gravel.

Hotrod1830

I'd try removing the snow with the bucket raised a bit and then go backwards in float to try to scrape off some more. You'll never really get all the snow off gravel, and on a steep drive you'll have to accept using salt/sand. Even a snowblower has to leave some (though less, but you generally need the skid shoes about 1" up); if the driveway is not perfectly smooth then you'll have to leave more snow or you'll be removing gravel.