New to skidsteers

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

warddawg

Hello all. Just found this site and figured it would be full of many enlightening posts. I am totally new to skid steers at the young age of 70 but just bought an 80-acre piece of ground. It is partially reclaimed mine ground that has a pit several acres and the rest being 50/50 pasture and wooded God piles. I purchased a 55 HP, 4-wheel drive tractor and a brush hog to do some mowing but have a guy going to mow and bail it after we get our new home built. I am a deer hunter and wanting to put in some trails in the God piles and am of the opinion I may be better off with a skid steer rather than a tractor. Having NEVER operated one much less owned one I'm looking for advice and opinions on what may be the best piece of all around equipment. We will have a pretty long driveway to access our new home, next spring so that is something else that will need to be maintained with something as well.

mrbb

my 2 cents here,
a smaller utility tractor will be OK for about the house, mowing, plowing snow, and light dirt work
for making trails on your property, odds are you will find a skid steer to be not the best tool at all my any means, they sort of suck on uneven ground, and worse on hills and off camber ground!
for this, IMO< you'd be way better off with a small excavator , yet money doesn't grow on trees and I know we all live on a budget
SO< what I would maybe suggest here would be, to rent , , one of each, a skid steer, mini excavator, and utility tractor(with a bucket)
plan ahead, though, try talking to your local rental center and explain to them, your looking to BUY some equipment, but are new to things and want to TRY things before buying the one you feel will be the most useful for you
ask if maybe they will work with you, allow you to rent one machine a day or two then drop off the next and repeat,
this way they will also be able to TEACH you how they work,