Mini-hoe attachment

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Marco

Bought a cheap mini-hoe and thought I'd share my bad decision. So far I've got about 20 ft of trench excavated and only broken my skidsteer twice. If I was a contractor, I'd run screaming from this attachment. As a hobby farmer, I'll keep it as I don't plan to use it much. Here's what I've learned: 1. QC Plate -- reinforce this. Mine is already slightly bowed. It needs to be reinforced instead of just the plate. Mine was also a little sloppy with the QC attachment which lead to it unhooking itself during operation (you get what you pay for). This resulted in snapping a bolt that holds the pin handle on the skidsteer side. I added some steel bar to the attachment's plate to get a snug fit on my QC, fixed my bolt, and was back to work. 2. Pressure relief -- I thought I was taking it easy but I guess not. I bent a cylinder rod from the loader to the QC. This damage was caused by backing the skid steer with the hoe in the trench which overloaded the cylinder. Really stupid looking back at it but it leads to point #3. So no moving the skid steer with the hoe in the hole. This is too bad as it worked pretty good to drag loose soil out instead of scooping it. I'll add a pressure relief to this circuit so I don't do this again. 3. Operation -- Right now I have the curl cylinder hooked up to my auxilary hydraulics (will be adding pressure relief here too but no problems yet). This makes it very awkward to operate. My right joystick runs the loader arms and QC tilt and I have to let go of this joystick to run the auxilliary hydraulics to curl the bucket. Any thoughts on improving this? I'm thinking adding a remote DC switch.

Tazza

Staff member
I assume this is the style that has a fixed boom with a cylinder to curl the bucket rite? You need to manually skid side to side to dump the dirt?