Case 1835B Diesel issues vs Newbie

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Hey all I'm brand new to the forum and also to skid steers in general so I'd like to preface this by saying although I'm mechanically Inclined to an extent I have zero experience with working on skid steers or heavy equipment, I've rebuilt the hydrostatic transmission in my JD lawn mower and done small stuff like that before and do work on cars as well.

Anyhow the issue: the skid steer moves forward and back and it seem both left and right sides move/drive; however, I have almost no ability to make a tight turn. I can turn right/left but the turning radius is massive and I usually have to back up and go forward to make any type of tighter turn. My father in law has a gas Case 1835b and his turns like a skid steer should you can basically turn it around on itself, mine seems incapable of making tight turns I have to back up and move forward to make a sharp turn. The pumps are groaning but from my little experience and the research I've done it seems that them being noisy is fairly normal on these case 1835b's. I will add that It almost feels like the left/right side are fighting each other when your trying to spin/turn it around.

Also when it was being used the other day out in the woods moving brush the left rear chain either came off or snapped barely got it back to the barn. I removed the cover and can clearly tell chain was the problem as it's down in the oil and not visible now. My question is does the turning issue have anything to do with the chains being too tight/loose or is the chain breaking probably unrelated to the other issue? Again I have zero experience or understanding of how these machines work so please be patient with my ignorance.