Bought my first Bobcats, need help deciding which one to save! 853H or 843

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

NYDan78

Hi guys new to the forum and to bobcats in general however I am a full time diesel mechanic and am experienced in hydraulic, engine, and electrical repair. There is an awful lot for me to learn on these machines though so thanks for any help you can give!

Recently, I purchased two machines for just over scrap price. An 853H and an 843. I am trying to decide which one to save and which to part out. Each machine has its pros and cons though so I would like input on which one would be the superior home use machine to hold onto.

The 853H has 3600hrs and a running Isuzu engine. It is missing the main hydraulic valve and auxiliary double gear pump for the loader as well as the hydraulic tank and many lines/hoses. This is what I have figured out so far at least.... Supposedly this machine ran and moved fine but it had hydraulic problems on the loader side and was taken apart 5 years ago. The machine came from a tree farm and was running a tree spade and seems to have been well kept previous to the failure. This machine also is equipped with rear stabilizers, backhoe mounts, and heat.

The 843 (3700hrs) is complete minus the engine, engine mounts, and flywheel. Previous owner stated they stole the engine for a reefer unit. This is a late model with the Isuzu engine, I believe the same engine from my 853H actually. PO stated that this machine did not move but hydraulics worked otherwise. I noticed it rolls extremely easy when compared to the 853, possibly a chaincase problem? This machine appears much harder worked with more worn out pins. One loader lift cylinder is removed however I do have it.