Battery pad heater??"s

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

mrbb

OK I was wondering if anyone here uses or used a battery pad heater , to help heat a battery in cold temps?
like a pad you stick under the battery, that claims it will warm the battery to get the battery up to full cranking power, or well, just more power than a cold battery would,,

I am looking at one of the kat's battery pad heaters for a machine I have that tends to be a hard starter in colder temps( group 31 battery size)

I have never used one before, and cannot seem to find much info on anyone that has, for how they like it or, it really worked out?,
so, anyone have any experience here with them?

foton

I have not used the pad style ,but have used the blanket type with good results, the problem is from what I delt with is I could only find one for a group 27 battery and like you have a group 31 so there is a area that is not wrapped. But it still seems to do a good job, I do use it with a freeze plug type block coolant warmer, and between the two my backhoe starts much easier after 1 hour or so of plug in. I use a timer so if I know when I am gonna use it just set the timer and it turns itself on and I am ready to go.

OP
OP
M

mrbb

I have not used the pad style ,but have used the blanket type with good results, the problem is from what I delt with is I could only find one for a group 27 battery and like you have a group 31 so there is a area that is not wrapped. But it still seems to do a good job, I do use it with a freeze plug type block coolant warmer, and between the two my backhoe starts much easier after 1 hour or so of plug in. I use a timer so if I know when I am gonna use it just set the timer and it turns itself on and I am ready to go.