1993 Bobcat 843b bleeding down

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

cmreckard

Hi Guys, I am a home builder and have operated plenty of equipment but am new to owning and repairing anything other than trucks and trailers.
That being said, I bought an 843b at auction and have sunk a ton of money into an ancient machine at this point. I've pretty much got the thing operating well and leak free but am still having trouble with the hydraulics bleeding down (even while the machine is still running) and the biggest problem is that my 4N1 bucket will stay shut tight but not hold open unless I disconnect it from the machine.
The boom and tilt leak down slowly (which is tolerable) but the auxiliary seems to have an issue that is more than normal wear going on.
Also if I switch the hoses on the bucket it will hold open but not stay closed tight.
Anyone got any suggestions?
Been tough for me to find anyone local that has ever worked on something of this vintage.

brdgbldr

You might want to check your auxiliary valve. It sounds like one side needs new seals. All of your valves could need new seals and that is why your lift and tilt won't hold also.

OP
OP
C

cmreckard

Would that be the spool seals you are talking about? I assumed that you would see the control valve leaking if they were bad, but if they leak or allow oil to bypass would they leak internally?

brdgbldr

I am talking about the spool seals. I used that as a general statement that you should check the auxiliary spool. There are other parts like the detent balls and springs that could be corroded or missing that cause problems. Let alone the actual spool could be bad.

OP
OP
C

cmreckard