Worn out Grouser Over Tire Tracks

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

tech.35058

I recently purchased a set of used Grouser brand "over the tire ", "(bar type?)" tracks. Finally got them on, had to remove a link on each side to get the tension in spec. Being a newbie, I did not realize how worn they actually were, but they are mine now, anyway. bushings should be 1.25" new, mine are more like 1". 1/2 inch bolts are worn probably less than 1/4 way through, but noticable. one pad has one pair of bolt holes broken out already. I think these are the type"E or F" tracks, I can purchase new bolts & bushngs from Grouser for $2.88 each, plus tax & shipping. or, I can buy new carrage bolts " between grade 5 & grade 8 " with self lock nuts from a local supply house for roughly $0.70 each. These are threaded into what should be the grip area, so I am looking for more appropriate bolts. I can knock out the bushings from round stock pretty simply. Kind of rediculouse to make my own for just a few, but a whole set comes to $833 plus tax & shipping , so now I am crringing at the cost, & thinking of trading my spare time for money. question A.. Should the bushings be hardened,( I think I can do this) ? should the bolts be grade 8, case hardened, or preferably softer, so they will wear before the more expensive links wear? Question B The pads also have obvious wear areas in the link openings that I would consider biulding up, consider re-inforcing the link bolt holes, etc. Also a couple of these are already cracked. ( made sure these were the ones removed in tensioning adjustment ) I would like to make these better, since when I replace the bolts & bushings, I will need these to have the length needed to fit my machine. My welding skill level could be generously described as "beginner". which flux core wire? pre heating /post heating the work peice ? Ljnks ... Some what worn on the outside, but bushing holes are oval .... I would like recondition these as best I can also. I understand