S185 opinions

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

jackler

Good day, First post, and I hope it is in the correct location? Anyway, I have been looking at purchasing a used skid steer for awhile, and unlike many purchases I make I am not familiar with these machines very much. What I am looking for the machine to do is plow/stack snow, and work around my hobby/hunting land. I will tell you a little about each of these. I own a commercial parking lot, it is 5 acres with equipment parked around the perimeter of the lot. So, my plowing always entails plowing from the outside towards the middle, I also have a 9' plow on my truck for the bulk of the work, the bobcat would be mainly used for stacking and cleaning up smaller areas. I also own 2 parcels of hunting land, and would like to ability to do different things out there, grading, brush cutting, light excavating, tilling, etc.. Again, I have very little experience with skid steers but I do know that I would like hand controls instead of foot controls. As I am sure my learning curve will exist, I am positive that my knees will not love foot controls. I would like a 2 speed machine, heat and AC cab, and a quick connect attachment system. I have talked with a lot of skid steer operators and gotten a lot of feedback and I think I have it narrowed down to an older S185 or the newer S550. So I guess what I am looking for is feedback on whether this seems like a good machine for my needs, or am I way off base. I know there are a lot of "what skid steer should I buy" or "who makes the best skid steer" questions, and this is another of them (hopefully with a little more info) so any input is appreciated. My budget is around 15-17K for a used machine. Thanks

Tazza

Staff member