Grapple hydraulic issue

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Bingo8

Newbie here. I just had new hydraulic hoses put on my stout grapple bucket. The bucket also had a kink in the grapple that I had straightened. Here is the issue, once I recieved it back and went to use it for first time, the grapple will barely open. I step on foot control (Case 70XT) and only one side of grapple will open at a time and at a snails pace. Once left side is open then right side starts to come up..again very slow. Same thing happens when closing. Worked fine before new lines put on and they unhooked lines to cylinder to straighten it. Now I did not run any fluid through new line before hooking it up so Im wondering if it could have air in it? I just dont know much about it. Any ideas to get me going would be appreciated. Thanks

SkidRoe

Could be air, but that should have cleared after the first few cycles. Sounds more like a restriction to me. Maybe check your new hoses to make sure there are no blockages in them.
Also, it is some what normal for one grapple to open before the other, as long as they mover freely. Since there is no flow divider between the two cylinders, the fluid will always flow the path of least resistance. One arm will have less friction than the other, so it will go to that one first.
Hope this helps - SR

OP
OP
B

Bingo8

Could be air, but that should have cleared after the first few cycles. Sounds more like a restriction to me. Maybe check your new hoses to make sure there are no blockages in them.
Also, it is some what normal for one grapple to open before the other, as long as they mover freely. Since there is no flow divider between the two cylinders, the fluid will always flow the path of least resistance. One arm will have less friction than the other, so it will go to that one first.
Hope this helps - SR
The guy who built the new line used 1/4" hose. I think the old hose was 3/8". Will that make a difference in how fast it opens?

SkidRoe