Gehl 4640, controls too touchy?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Azhayseed

I'm pretty new to skid steers, I recently bought a Gehl 4640 that seems to be really good shape, the main issue I'm having is the drive controls seem a bit too touchy, I keep getting this loader bucking and the only wat to get it under control is tho let go of the sticks and let it completely stop. I used to drive a case 1840 and it did the same thing but I learned to brace my elbows into my ribs and this stopped the bucking on the Case, but this trick doesn't seem to help with the Gehl. It get pretty hairy if I'm moving with the arms up in the air. I try to always lower the arms before moving but occasionally I don't!

any ideas what might help? I'm getting tired of being beat around in the cab

Last edited:

brdgbldr

I'm not familiar with your specific machine, but please do not drive with the bucket in the air. It never ends well. However, you are totally correct in the way you are letting go of the levers to get it to stop bucking. If you fight it you will loose.

A lot of skid steers buck. Sometimes this can be caused by something as simple as the tires not being inflated to the correct pressure. The trick of course with any new machine is to take it real slow until you get used to it. You may want to back the throttle off when you move the machine. Not enough that the machine stalls, but enough so that your not at full power when you try to move. When the machine is at full RPM and you go to move too quickly, it's like revving up a car engine and then dropping the clutch to peal out. In the case of a skid steer, it wants to do a wheelie, and when the weight comes back down on the front tires they bounce up and the fun begins.

OP
OP
Azhayseed

Azhayseed

I usually operate mine at low idle, I have a foot throttle to increase rpm if more power is needed. So far the only thing I do where I need high idle, is when I'm grubbing out the larger mesquite trees!