763F Control Valve Lift Spool Detent Leaking... no Gushing!

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Greatdaen

My tractor is a 763F SN 512232614, approximately 2100 hours. I use my tractor occasionally. The other day a small leak I have been searching for turned into a gusher! Hydraulic fluid is streaming out of the control valve Lift Spool Detent. It is coming out right where the Clip and washer are on the end of the detent sleeve. I have the service manual that shows the disassembly process. However, this is done with the control valve on the bench. My questions are: Do I buy a full lift spool replacement or just a seal kit? Can this be done in the tractor? (The thought of having to pull the control valve is NOT appealing) I am a pretty handy occasional mechanic but never worked on this part of the tractor before. The service manual steps are as follows: Remove snap ring and washer Remove two screws from the detent bonnet Remove the bonnet Wrap a shop towel around the detent assembly. This will prevent the detent balls and spring from being lost when the detent sleeve is removed (sounds like this is a guaranteed oh crap) Remove the detent sleeve, detent balls, and spring Remove spool assembly from the control valve Remove the spool seal from the control valve ... the rest is breaking down the components of the spool assembly Can the spool assembly be removed without pulling the detent sleeve off so as not to scatter the balls and spring into the bowels of the tractor? Will the dealership have a seal kit or will I need to list every seal and o-ring individually. Are there any pitfalls to watch out for? Thanks in advance. DC

bobcatguy