753 supposably wont move

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

lfd433

Hello everybody. Please forgive me, I am new to this and never worked on a bobcat before. I am purchasing a used bobcat 753 with problems. Supportable it won't move, not even a little. "Bobcat Service" said it needs new drive motors to the cost of 3k! I am going to look at it next week. I was hoping for some pointers on what to look for? Also, can anybody tell me how to move this thing? It is in the middle of a parking lot nowhere near a shop, and definitely not my garage.

Tazza

Staff member
You can buy motors from other places than the dealer cheaper than that.
As for moving it, you will need to disable the park brake and remove the hoses from the drive motors, it will roll. The way i move dead machines is brute force, drage it onto a trailer then drag off. Use water to let the wheels slip a little.

OP
OP
L

lfd433

You can buy motors from other places than the dealer cheaper than that.
As for moving it, you will need to disable the park brake and remove the hoses from the drive motors, it will roll. The way i move dead machines is brute force, drage it onto a trailer then drag off. Use water to let the wheels slip a little.
does it even make sense that both drives would totally fail at the same time?

Tazza

Staff member
does it even make sense that both drives would totally fail at the same time?
Not especially. For both motors to cark it, they would have to have failed in a big way which would mean there is trash throughout the system and possible pump damage, still i would suspect that last.
I have had a drive motor lose all power due to bad high pressure seals. The wheels would turn, but there was no power once load was applied.
I wouldn't buy anything till i got the old motors out and pulled down, it could be the high pressure seals too.

jmatt20