463 no start blows smoke w/kubota 1L engine 80 hrs

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

brian hh

Hello this is my first time on this forum. We have this 463 thats 1or 2 years old and ran fine until my superviser lent it to some outher workers they had it for a few weeks and sayed it was hard to start and it smoked alot I sayed dont you think you should not use it if it smokes ? but thats a long story I drained the fuel and ran 1/2 gal of diesel thru the injector pump bleading the system and it still wont start the glow plugs are ok and the air cleaner is not pluged any outher sugestions? Thank you Brian HH

Tazza

Staff member
White smoke?
I'd start with a compression test, if you are sure the glow plugs are ok and it still blows white smoke start there. It could be injectors too, black smoke when it was running (i'm assuming black) could be leaky injectors. Compression should be in the high 400's.
Sorry i can't give much more info than that, you can only start by checking a few things and work from there. Hopefully its nothing too major.

Iowa Dave

White smoke?
I'd start with a compression test, if you are sure the glow plugs are ok and it still blows white smoke start there. It could be injectors too, black smoke when it was running (i'm assuming black) could be leaky injectors. Compression should be in the high 400's.
Sorry i can't give much more info than that, you can only start by checking a few things and work from there. Hopefully its nothing too major.
Make sure the fuel solenoid is opening all the way. My 463 wouldn't start--but there wasn't much smoke-- and the fuel solenoid wasn't opening. Turn on the key, wait a few seconds, and turn the key back off. You should here a pronounced "click" from the front of the motor when the solenoid moves. Probably not it since lots of smoke, but a simple thing to eliminate.

scar99