2000 Bobcat 863 bucking/jerking

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

thejrancher

Hi guys, I wanted to give you an update on my problem which I posted previously with this title about a week ago. I got the service manual and first thing I did was take off the top plate with the spring on one end above the pumps to check for wallowing and found the shafts to be tight no problem there. Next I switched drive motors, and lo and behold the problem switched leading me to believe I either need to have the drive motor replaced or rebuilt. Any input on new or rebuilt? I am leaning towards new. I can't thank you guys enough for all your help, I have no experience working on Bobcats before, I have done a lot of auto repair work, rebuilt engines, restored tractors etc. but no Bobcats. This forum gave me a great resource of how to info and I appreciate the support and time you guys give. Thanks,Bill

thetool

If it is indeed the motor as it sounds like it is, you can't go wrong with the new one, if it's affordable for you.
Your manual will show you how to disassemble and reassemble your motor, how to inspect, etc., but as you are aware parts may be more costly than a new unit.
The only potential problem I see is once your repair is completed, you will have a new or rebuilt, "stronger" motor on one side and this may be apparent.
Also, whenever I R&R'd a motor I always replaced all O-rings-Motor O-ring and plastic shaft seal(blue or white flat ring), and hose fitting bosses. Got a lot of ribbing for this but never had one come back leaking after I repaired it.
Good Luck

OP
OP
T

thejrancher

If it is indeed the motor as it sounds like it is, you can't go wrong with the new one, if it's affordable for you.
Your manual will show you how to disassemble and reassemble your motor, how to inspect, etc., but as you are aware parts may be more costly than a new unit.