first skidsteer...

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

tc429

been watching for a cheap skidsteer for a long time- and got one that was being scrapped for a locked up engine :) pans bent out so its def broke, hoping blocks ok and rebuildable- time will tell. its a old 763, looking it over, dont seem to be in bad shape. first lesson learned was you cant pull the darn things- batterys good, park brake pin pulls, but wouldnt roll at all...one side crept ever so slightly- guessing internal blowby in motor, but i men like a inch per minute, just skewing sideways on trailer...if other side was moving it was barely...had to lift front, put sheetmetal under front tires, then lift rear and pull, sliding on sheetmetal which stuck to tires/not wood deck... finally got it to back of trailer where my restored old clark gpx30 was only barely capable of lifting it off...
i'm a tinkerer- cnc retrofitter by trade, mostly doing design/programming/schematic crap- but love saving old stuff...its a sickness- but a bobcat would be so handy to have around... much handier than a freaking 10,000 pound forklift sitting in the garage... have a lot of dirt to move, want to add on to the garage eventually, this will come in handy moving the huge dirtpile left behind when excavation for garage was done near 20 years ago. looking thru schematics, if physical room allows, considering teeing a flow control across motor ports- opening two needle valves would allow slow recirc thru motor for towing very slowly at least enough to roll back and forth in c=garage or to trailer when dead- it was just no fun scooting that thing at all...