New member with 1995 853

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

wateka

O-ring TLDR:
use the backup o-rings. Don't double o-ring it. Details below.

Hydraulic tank sock filter:
order a new one or find a washer/machine bushing with an ID that will fit the sock and an OD that will keep it from falling into the tank but allow the fill cap to screw on, and solder the sock to the washer.

The groove: if you are referring to that triangular shaped raw metal in your picture, is likely from the neutral return spring rubbing against the housing.

The servo spool fix kit you mentioned is what I think is a replacement control sleeve and, if so, is covered in the below attached Service Letter dated 12/14/1995.

O-ring details:
I'm not an engineer, but I did just rebuild my entire 853 hydraulic and hydrostatic system and replaced every o-ring and backup o-ring in there. Part of my learning curve required reading about o-rings to make sure I was ordering the correct size (the "dash number") and material. After learning the function of the backup o-ring, it makes perfect sense as to why they are included, and how the double o-ring idea is not going to achieve the same outcome.

More details at the link and a PDF (of the same link) below:

IMG_7977.jpeg

IMG_7978.jpeg

Attachments

• Backup Rings | Global O-Ring and Seal.pdf
    247.4 KB · Views: 46
  • Hydrostatic pump replacement control sleeve Service Letter.pdf
    681.1 KB · Views: 25
OP
OP
Mitch500

Mitch500

O-ring TLDR:
use the backup o-rings. Don't double o-ring it. Details below.

Hydraulic tank sock filter:
order a new one or find a washer/machine bushing with an ID that will fit the sock and an OD that will keep it from falling into the tank but allow the fill cap to screw on, and solder the sock to the washer.

The groove: if you are referring to that triangular shaped raw metal in your picture, is likely from the neutral return spring rubbing against the housing.