Nasty crankcase backfire

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

upnorth4951

Here's a one I've never heard of before. Went to fire up the M-600 with the VH4D engine after using it yesterday. Cranked it no choke for 2 seconds and didn't fire up so choked it and she proceeded to blow out the dipstick and blew the oil filler cap clean off. Sounded like a firecracker lol. Could it be a timing problem or the weird crank case breather gong to the carb intake elbow? Have owned this machine for a couple of weeks and has been starting fine. Any ideas ? Thanks!

rodbuilder

Sounds like you have a SERIOUS compression loss in one of the cylinders. How else would the fuel/air mixture get in the crankcase.......................BUT it that where the combustion took place? As a former engine builder I'd say NO, because the spark plug is obviously in the head! Which brings me back to having a really bad set of rings on one cylinder, or even a hole in a piston??. Stick a fork in me - I'm done!!!!

OP
OP
U

upnorth4951

Sounds like you have a SERIOUS compression loss in one of the cylinders. How else would the fuel/air mixture get in the crankcase.......................BUT it that where the combustion took place? As a former engine builder I'd say NO, because the spark plug is obviously in the head! Which brings me back to having a really bad set of rings on one cylinder, or even a hole in a piston??. Stick a fork in me - I'm done!!!!