Just bought a 60XT, need some help / advice

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

dirtyb115

Hi all. So after a long search i found what i think is a good deal on a 2002 60XT. Picked it up for 4750. The motor runs great, and the hydraulics seem good from the limited time i have had it running, but it has its fair share of problems. First, the left side steering is just about impossible to use right now. Im 90% sure it is in the linkage, the arm just does not move like it should, likes it binding up or something. Hoping to get a better look sometime in the upcoming week. I also noticed one of the tilt cylinders has a leak so getting ready to order a seal kit. Any tricks or write ups that would help me replace the seals. (im somewhat new to hydraulics so could use any help i can get.) The quick attach levers are also seized so i can not get the bucket to lock in place. I have to give it a good cleaning before i can see what is going on. There is so much rust on the machine, im pretty sure they are just rusted shut. Hopefully wont have to cut them out and replace, but we will see. As i said before, the machine is rusted pretty bad, looks like it was stored outside its entire life. I would like to try and clean up the rust as best as i can and paint it. I dont need it to look pretty just, keep it from rusting again. I have a compressor, but have never done any painting with it. Would i be better off learning to paint with it, or would rattle cans do what i need? What about knocking the rust off? I was thinking maybe a wire brush then something like naval jelly? Also, besides oil, fuel, hydro filters, is there anything else i should look for as far as general maintenance? Sorry for the long post, just getting ready for a big project. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Tazza

Staff member