wheels, tracks or posi track?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

rooneystang

HI guys, I am fairly new to the skid steer game. I am just in the early stages of my landscape company and I currently have an old bobcat 632 (in mint shape), but It doesn't seem to be a very smooth machine. I can make a nice grade with it, but it seems to take a lot of screwing around to get it there. I have always ran equipment, not for a living, but my dad has a logging company so I have always ran skidders, dozers and excavators. I was out on a job the other day and there was a terex pt50 there and it made my machine look like a joke. was some of it the operator? probably a good chunk of it. However it did look like it was smooth as glass, the machine never seemed to dip and dive the same as mine, and the pilot controls looked like they were 100 times easier to operate, and it moved twice as much if not 3 times as much material. I currently owe nothing on my business (truck, skidsteer, trailer), and I almost have enough cash to sell my 632 and buy something with tracks. I am really leaning towards the a cat, terex or asv, because of the posi track setup are these track machines that much easier and smoother to operate? is there a significant difference between the posi track, and straight track as far as smoothness? is there a significant difference between the undercarriage life of a posi track and straight track? I really don't want to buy a bobcat brand machine, bobcat of Ottawa was terrible to deal with for parts for my 632 and I would prefer to steer clear of them at all cost. And I have good connections through the Toromont cat from the logging company and our other business (we build firewood processors also). Thanks for any help in advance

Terexnorthfl