Tilt Trailer or Trailer with ramps?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

JeffBob

I am new to the Bobcat club, bought a S-160 for farm work and work for friends. Every dealer will suggest a 14k trailer that tilts with a deck height of 22-26 inches. I kinda like the non-tilting type with ramps because the load is lower (18-19 inches above the road) and weight is 400 to 500 lbs less. Plus the machine weighs 6000 lbs so even a 10k rated trailer with 15" tires (Load D) and they are 2" smaller in diameter compared to 16" tires. Costco even sells some Load E tires in 15" size that would add 1300 lbs additional safety capacity. For the 3 or 4 times I will move dirt, I can rent a dumping trailer. I am pulling it with a 3/4T Dodge diesel. And resale isn't a concern since the trailers are kinda cheap. So here is my question: Tilt or Ramps? Thanks in advance. I have learned a lot from you guys in the last year and a half. JeffBob

Bobcatdan

Really personal choice, which ever you like better. On thing with all the tilts I ever used, the axles seemed farther forward then a standard trailer which I sometimes found a little harder balance loads out. 14K is overkill for a S160. A 10K would be fine, but if you are going to get any attachments that will be hauled along, I'd maybe look at longer deck 12K.

reaperman

I'd go with a ramp trailer also. I rarely see a bobcat being pulled on a tilt trailer ever and personally don't see what the benefit would be. I think a 10k trailer is plenty big, but I would make sure and get nothing shorter than 16 feet. In case you ever have to haul a car.

Ryan123

I'd go with a ramp trailer also. I rarely see a bobcat being pulled on a tilt trailer ever and personally don't see what the benefit would be. I think a 10k trailer is plenty big, but I would make sure and get nothing shorter than 16 feet. In case you ever have to haul a car.