SK-3000 Hand Saver Tool

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Handsaver-Engineer

Hello, I am new to the forum but thought you might be interested in this. I am a mechanical engineer and product developer in South Carolina. A company came to me and asked for help to protect their mechanics when they remove carriage bolts from the underside of a skid steer bucket. The bolt heads wear and get very sharp! A mechanic replaces the bolts, or rather the blade, by loosening the nut on the inside of the bucket. When this happens the bolt drops down and is spinning very fast. It becomes a "rotating blade" and cuts their hands severely. Many mechanics have been cut so severely they have to have surgery. I developed a tool (that's now patent-pending) to help mechanics protect their hands. It affixes to the bottom of the bucket and has a small knob to hold the bolt in place when the mechanic loosen the nut. Now the operation is hands free and virtually eliminates the cut, burn, and crush risk. I'd love to know what you guys think especially if you are a professional heavy duty mechanic. Here is my website: www.productlaunchadvisors.com/shop I sent one to Geoffrey to try and he seemed to like it. Anyway, thanks for the interest!

Tazza

Staff member
Interesting idea, looks quite simple. I'm surprised that it can hold the bolt head in place when the nuts are tight and you're pushing down on them.
Most of the time, I can't get the nuts off and end up torching the heads off, so new bolts and nuts are needed

OP
OP
H

Handsaver-Engineer

Interesting idea, looks quite simple. I'm surprised that it can hold the bolt head in place when the nuts are tight and you're pushing down on them.
Most of the time, I can't get the nuts off and end up torching the heads off, so new bolts and nuts are needed