Seat sensor on LS 185

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Outrigger

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6
any way to bypass that pressure sensor? or is there more than meets the eye when dealing with the seat?
 

Tazza

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
16,694
tried a jumper wire. it works sometimes. whole relay may be bad. it is real fustrating to get going
Charger is the local NH expert, he would come acorss this problem all the time as he works in the workshop for NH. Hopefully he will see your question and help you out.
 

Outrigger

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6
Charger is the local NH expert, he would come acorss this problem all the time as he works in the workshop for NH. Hopefully he will see your question and help you out.
got working for now. probably need the whole new wiring harness
 

charger

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
74
got working for now. probably need the whole new wiring harness
OOPS I GUESS I`M TOO LATE, THE HARNESS TO THE SEAT SWITCH WE`VE SEEN A FEW OF THEM BRAKE OR SHORT OUT ESPECIALLY IF EQUIPED WITH THE SUSPENSION SEAT
 

Outrigger

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6
OOPS I GUESS I`M TOO LATE, THE HARNESS TO THE SEAT SWITCH WE`VE SEEN A FEW OF THEM BRAKE OR SHORT OUT ESPECIALLY IF EQUIPED WITH THE SUSPENSION SEAT
found out it was the female end of the wire that was bad. cut it off and put a toggle switch. works for now.
 

Earthwerks Unlimited

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
303
found out it was the female end of the wire that was bad. cut it off and put a toggle switch. works for now.
I've got an LS185.b with the suspended seat. It had a broken wire at the connector from bouncing up and down. I ened up leaving the seat swicth alone and installing a hidden toggle switch. The switch prevents it from starting. Be sure to leave the switch on when running. Otherwise, the battery doesn't get charged. Likewise, leave the switch on when engine isn't running and that will power the IP and discharge the battery.
 

heatpumpproducts

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
47
I've got an LS185.b with the suspended seat. It had a broken wire at the connector from bouncing up and down. I ened up leaving the seat swicth alone and installing a hidden toggle switch. The switch prevents it from starting. Be sure to leave the switch on when running. Otherwise, the battery doesn't get charged. Likewise, leave the switch on when engine isn't running and that will power the IP and discharge the battery.
i had to change the seat on my new to me skid L565 , but it only has 1 seat switch not 2 like the original . so i jumpered the second switch with 2 spade conectors and 1 wire to each side of the female on the second switch . QUESTION ? will this discharge the batery ? should i just put a togle swith in in stead . also i want to hook up exstra lights , and a 4 way strobe kit from Federal Signal that use a power amplfier . the lights are double 55 watts in a 4x6 casing can some one suggest how i should hook these up , do i need to use relays ? not real sure don't want to over do the (altinator)sorry for the spelling .kier miramichi N.B.
 

mllud

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
635
i had to change the seat on my new to me skid L565 , but it only has 1 seat switch not 2 like the original . so i jumpered the second switch with 2 spade conectors and 1 wire to each side of the female on the second switch . QUESTION ? will this discharge the batery ? should i just put a togle swith in in stead . also i want to hook up exstra lights , and a 4 way strobe kit from Federal Signal that use a power amplfier . the lights are double 55 watts in a 4x6 casing can some one suggest how i should hook these up , do i need to use relays ? not real sure don't want to over do the (altinator)sorry for the spelling .kier miramichi N.B.
I looked in my owners manual for my lx865. I dint how much different your electrical curcit is on your loader. My accessory curcit has a 25 amp fuse. If your leaving your existing lights . I would go to my fuse box in the engine compartment and tap into a main battery terminal and add a relay and inline fuse for all that your adding.I think you would overload the existing curcit..
As far as the alternator goes I dont think thats a problem . Mine is 60 amp. Yours is ?.
The seat belt pressure I Believe has to be activated before you turn the key on. Each time. I dont know if both switches are in series. I would use a toggle switch and flip the switch each time I sat in the seat before starting. Mike
 

heatpumpproducts

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
47
I looked in my owners manual for my lx865. I dint how much different your electrical curcit is on your loader. My accessory curcit has a 25 amp fuse. If your leaving your existing lights . I would go to my fuse box in the engine compartment and tap into a main battery terminal and add a relay and inline fuse for all that your adding.I think you would overload the existing curcit..
As far as the alternator goes I dont think thats a problem . Mine is 60 amp. Yours is ?.
The seat belt pressure I Believe has to be activated before you turn the key on. Each time. I dont know if both switches are in series. I would use a toggle switch and flip the switch each time I sat in the seat before starting. Mike
has any ever had the seat belt apart before , what is happening with mine is sometime as i conect it the light goes out , but mostly after the second or third try . does the blade make contact with a limit switch or is it blade on reciever just making contact some how . can or should i add a conductive gresse or clean the blade for oxidization by sanding it a little . would that help . one other thing i put a new seat in earler and it came with a new seat belt with a single wire can i by pass or conect it to the old one 's wiring or do i have to fix the old one first . the old one on the female side moves quite freely where it attaches to the floor/front door engine hatch. does it make ground at that point . o i found out the alternator is 40 amp on my L565.mllud
 

mllud

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
635
has any ever had the seat belt apart before , what is happening with mine is sometime as i conect it the light goes out , but mostly after the second or third try . does the blade make contact with a limit switch or is it blade on reciever just making contact some how . can or should i add a conductive gresse or clean the blade for oxidization by sanding it a little . would that help . one other thing i put a new seat in earler and it came with a new seat belt with a single wire can i by pass or conect it to the old one 's wiring or do i have to fix the old one first . the old one on the female side moves quite freely where it attaches to the floor/front door engine hatch. does it make ground at that point . o i found out the alternator is 40 amp on my L565.mllud
I wouldnt think they would ground the seat belt thru where it bolts to the seat base. Mine pivots there also and the ground would also have to go thru the hinges where the seat folds up also. I would think they would have a micro switch in the belt latch. It wouldnt hurt to clean the blade part with some 600 sandpaper . Mine has 2 wires going to the plug on the seat belt.You might tighten up the bolt where it pivots on the seat frame. Just tighten it in a position in line with the belt being buckled.I dont know about your new seat belt having a single wire. With that belt they must be using the attaching point as a ground.That belt may not allow your safety interlock system to work rite . On the alternator and your new lights you should be fine as long as you have it fused right and have a good battery.Someone else may be more help with the seat belt.
 

Earthwerks Unlimited

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
303
I wouldnt think they would ground the seat belt thru where it bolts to the seat base. Mine pivots there also and the ground would also have to go thru the hinges where the seat folds up also. I would think they would have a micro switch in the belt latch. It wouldnt hurt to clean the blade part with some 600 sandpaper . Mine has 2 wires going to the plug on the seat belt.You might tighten up the bolt where it pivots on the seat frame. Just tighten it in a position in line with the belt being buckled.I dont know about your new seat belt having a single wire. With that belt they must be using the attaching point as a ground.That belt may not allow your safety interlock system to work rite . On the alternator and your new lights you should be fine as long as you have it fused right and have a good battery.Someone else may be more help with the seat belt.
In '05 my '05 I had seat belt switch issues and there was Tech Service Bulletin to cover it. I took mine apart and found a very small and delicate microswitch. I got a new seat belt assembly from the dealer under warranty (but installed myself), but found I still had problems--turned out to be the broken seat switch wire making intermittent contact. And let me tell you that the '05's have SAHR (Spring Applied Hydraulic Released) brakes. When the wire would come disconnected-- in 2nd-speed no less--that sucker would go from 14 MPH to ZERO so quick it would snap my neck (and yes, I would then hit the door glass with my forehead---read below about seat belt being removed)---like hitting wall without notice! I cut the webbing from the old seat belt (which I didn't return to the dealer for warranty--long story), used ony the buckle that goes in the seat belt lap switch next to the seat, and now I have no problematic seat belt at all---so I can come and go without constantly unbuckling and rebuckling. I have and enclosed cab so I'm not too worried about falling out forward. Though I have wacked my head on the door glass a few times to knock me out momentarily :) DOH! The other benefit of using only the seat belt buckle is that when I leave the machine unattended overnite I take the buckle with me--sort of like another ignition key since the buckle is no longer just hanging there o the seat belt in the machine for the thief to use. By the way, the entire seatbelt assembly kit isn't even intended to see dirty conditions--it's not even a construction equipment part--it's designed and made for use clean trucks, as in delivery trucks as a new or replacement which is why these are not lasting in the field. The way I know this is the packaging the kit came in, and the instructions themselves on how to install it---showed only a delivery truck!
 
Top