Newbie skidsteer and attachment questions

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

djphelan01

I'm new to skidsteers and their attachments. I bought a Bobcat S185 mostly to play with on my property and to clear snow from the driveway in the winter. I will be using it to maintain a motocros track and whatever other projects I can find and use it for. So far I have a snowplow, pallet forks, toothed bucket and a backhoe attachment. I was planning on getting a smooth bucket and some type of grapple to carry logs with instead of moving the splitter to the logs. My question is, what attachments have been the most bang for the buck for just residential use and are there certain brands of attachments to stay clear of or ceratin ones to look for? Another question my skidsteer only had 400hrs on it when I bought it are there certain things with this model I should watch for?

Mr_C

I have found that one of my most used attachments on my farm is the pallet forks. I use them for a lot of things i never thought of before I got them. I bought it just for moving pallets of stuff, but recently I have used it for digging/hauling big slabs of concrete, digging out roots, moving car chassis, etc. I agree you will want a smooth bucket. You might consider looking for a 4 in 1 bucket, as it would serve the purpose both being your smooth bucket and could be used much like a grapple to move logs around (although only one at a time). I think you would also find some of its features very handy when working on the grade on your MX track. I recently purchased one and found that it allows me to do some more precise work that I wasn't able to do with just a normal bucket.

frogfarmer