Half-abandonded bobcat 632 not running

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Nate0918

Sitting in my driveway is half-abandoned, frankensteined, propane powered, mostly not running bobcat 632. I'll spare you the story. Ultimately, it won't start and I need to get this running. It starts with some effort initially but if it's shut off, it's impossible to get started again when warmed up. It cranks but doesn't fire up when warmed up. After lots of cranking i can smell propane. Starter fluid doesnt make a difference. I'm new to skid steers in general, but some initial research shows that the resistor inline with the ignition coil has been bypassed. I removed the distributor cap, rotor, condenser, and points. The points looked like they had melted at one time, with a pit in one side and a tiny blob of metal on the other. Otherwise the parts looked worn but ok. The vacuum advance was difficult to move, i dont know what to expect however. I am new to a points distributor as well. My plan was to replace all the ignition parts and see what happens but any advice would be appreciated. Any negative to having that resistor removed?

EDIT: This has the ford 1.6l 4cyl Industrial engine setup for propane. I should mention that when running, it seems to run just fine but at what I would think a high idle. It scoots around and the bucket and arms work well. There is no choke, not needed on propane?

Last edited:

spitzair

Don't know about the propane side of things but I do know that the points and condenser setup on these engines is extremely fussy. You have to set the points exactly and they have to be clean or you'll have all kinds of grief with them. Lots of guys including myself have ditched the points and condenser in these units in favour of a solid state ignition, I myself went with a Pertronix system, the only regret I have is that I disn't do it sooner!