Cat 239D Down Pressure Issue

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

onehunter

Hi, I recently purchased a 2018 Cat 239D and I believe it may have a function issue. I am new to Cat skid loaders and perhaps this is just operator error? All of the hydraulic operations function properly, except for boom down pressure. If I tip the bucket so the cutting edge is down, and then lower the boom until the tip of the bucket hits the ground, I cannot lift the front of the tracks off the ground. I have tried toggling the stick fwd and backwards, but that does nothing. If I have the boom all the way down with the bucket flat to the ground, I can tip the bucket and easily raise the front of the tracks off of the ground. The only way I have boom down pressure is to roll up on the roller button as I move the RH stick fwd. Am I doing something incorrectly, or is this just how Cat loaders work? Seems odd to have to do 2 inputs to get boom down pressure. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks Al

flyerdan

I moved this up to the Cat forum hoping that someone will have an quick answer.
Not familiar at all with it, but it sounds like it could be a float mode issue. Check your operator manual for float function.

creelinecat

Not familiar at all with it, but it sounds like it could be a float mode issue. Check your operator manual for float function.
ya check the float/detent button, likely in owners manual

OP
OP
O

onehunter

Thanks for the response. The float button seems to be working fine. When its depressed the boom will float.

ianmcolo