Bobcat 343 Right Hand wheels don't move forward

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

Berono

Hello all, I've just joined this awesome forum as I've recently purchased an old bobcat 343 (now s70) for a steal. The owner said I needed to check the right hand drive though. And indeed, when pushing the right hand drive rod forward, nothing happens... Reverse works. It's an old tiny beast with certainly 40-50 years of age. It stood untouched in a barn since 2016, so maybe the oil has become thick and mucky and doesn't pass through the lines? I honestly wouldn't know as I am new to skidsteers, every opinion is welcome, thanks in advance!

Tazza

Staff member
Welcome to the forum.
It could be the pump, it could be the motor. An easy way to know is to swap drive motors from side to side, but i think removing drive motors on your machine is not as easy, i think the motor has a sprocket on the nose inside teh chain case, so you need to remove it that way, unlike the newer ones, you just remove a few bolts and hoses and it slides right off.
Never worked on one, but hopefully another member can advise how to get it out easily.

Wayne440

Welcome to the forum.
It could be the pump, it could be the motor. An easy way to know is to swap drive motors from side to side, but i think removing drive motors on your machine is not as easy, i think the motor has a sprocket on the nose inside teh chain case, so you need to remove it that way, unlike the newer ones, you just remove a few bolts and hoses and it slides right off.
Never worked on one, but hopefully another member can advise how to get it out easily.
I claim zero expertise. That said, my guess is that this is a clutch drive machine.

Tazza

Staff member
I claim zero expertise. That said, my guess is that this is a clutch drive machine.
Being that age i hought it was clutch driven too, but he mentioned motors, i assumed he knew if it had a motor or not.
If it's clutch driven, hopefully it's as easy as an adjustment.

OP
OP
B

Berono