Best CTL for working on slopes?

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

goobz

Hi, I'm a newbie so go easy on me (please)! I live in Southwestern Colorado at 9300 ft on 200 acres. I am looking into a used Compact Track Loader with 80+ HP and High Flow Hydraulics. I am leaning towards a tracked machine as everything I've read here and everything that people have told me says that the is no disputing the fact that tracked machines work the best on steep hill sides? My property is mostly hill side. I will be using it for brush hogging, snow blowing, snow plowing, fencing (post holes), cleaning road ditches(dozer blade) and more. I allready know that tires and chains are better for plowing and blowing if you are on ice. Luckily we rarely have ice here and the few times that we do get ice would not out weigh the advantages of being able to take the machine to the back reaches of my land. Suspension type undercarridge(ASV) vs. Rigid type undercarridge? Okay, they say that the ASV style is more maintenance intensive as well as more expensive to maintain? I am still leaning towards this type, as from my reasearch they are more stable on hills and better for plowing. As I'm just a land owner and not running a business with the machine it will not be seeing alot of hours. Do you agree with my logic? I was considering something with the Loegering VTS tracks (Cat 268B or any other 80HP machine with the VTS) so I could change back and forth between tracks and tires in the winter. Seems like a pretty good option. Then I was told that the VTS system will not be as stable as an ASV system? What do you think? Also the general consensus around here is that the actual ASV is the most stable machine out there? As opposed to a Cat machine with the ASV undercarridge or the rigid undercarridge types(Bobcat, Mustang, etc...) The ASV is very popular in the forestry industry for its ability to go into steep terrain with the Bad A*~ Fecon mulcher(out of my price range), and it has a really good High