743 Excessive Blowby Pushing Oil Out

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

gatorguy

Hello, I have a 743 with v1702 Kubota Diesel. Motor ran like a charm and didnt leak a drop of oil until just recently. Well, it still runs fine but just leaks. Drips a drop of oil out of the valve cover breather tube every second or so when revved right up and is pushing oil out the throttle plate cover and a bunch of seals it seems. Pull the dipstick and oil splashes out pretty good. Compression test showed one cylinder at 400 and the otherd roughly around 300psi. Pulled the engine and head off, head gasket looks good, im no expert but cylinder walls seem not too bad, nothing your finger nail can feel anyway and appears to be a bit of crosshatch visible. Pulled one piston out thinking maybe a broken ring but they were all intact. You could squeeze them in with two fingers though. End gap on the first ring was fine, end gap on the second was out of spec. But the side gap between the ring and the edge of the groove in the piston was out of spec. Piston should be softer metal than the ring so i am worried even new rings alone wont get that gap back to where it is acceptable and dont really want to fork over the dough for new pistons...I guess my question is how critical is that side clearance of that ring in the groove? If I can get away with slapping new rings and a headgasket in to get another year of two out of this motor i would be very happy. I just cant have it losing oil all over the place and dripping everwhere. Was losing liters a day and everything was a mess. Appreciate your input. Thanks

OP
OP
G

gatorguy

Here are some pictures. https://ibb.co/phVjV73 https://ibb.co/VtvFvjv https://ibb.co/MRRzFWw

foton

Here are some pictures. https://ibb.co/phVjV73 https://ibb.co/VtvFvjv https://ibb.co/MRRzFWw