Brand new Kubota SVL65-2...can't keep the engine running

Help Support SkidSteer Forum:

NoobAsNoobGets

I have no experience with construction equipment other than renting a mini ex three times and the 28 hours I've put on this mini track loader we purchased. Somewhere around 15 hours or so, on occasion, I'd start it and it would die about five seconds later. Then I'd start again and no issues so I didn't think too much about it. Then around 20 hours it started to happen a bit more. Then at around 26 or 27 hours it would not start. So I kept the key in the on position and let it wait for a minute to bleed any air that might be in the fuel lines, and it would start. But it would only run for a minute or so and then die. That then became not starting and I have to let air bleed (not sure if that's an issue or not) for a 3 minute period before it would start. At around 27 hours when trying to start it I began to get the DPF light for the first time. Mind you during all of this there have been absolutely no error codes or error lights. The DPF will not complete a cycle though as the engine won't continue to run long enough. I've run it on all idle settings. I checked for water in the fuel and the fuel is fine and no water is shown and none drains out. Checked the air filter and it's clean. It's possible something got into the fuel system as around five hours I was driving it back from my work site when I saw the fuel cap in front of me that must have fallen off on my way to the work site. I did hours of work in dusty conditions without knowing the cap had fallen off (I had never touched the cap and had not fueled the brand new machine up at that point). I put the cap back on and it fell off again a couple days later. It eventually broke while I was messing with it, but I am able to keep it on the machine without falling off now. I have fueled the machine twice total with diesel. While this is a possible issue (something getting into the fuel) I have no evidence this is